Skip to Content

Educator Gag Bill Defeated in Senate – Thank Senators for Supporting School Employees


March 17, 2014, was a great day for AEA in the Arizona Senate. We successfully killed SB1094, which targeted Arizona educators and their ability to pay union dues through payroll deduction. This bill was defeated by a vote of 13 ayes – 16 nays.  The Senate Democratic Caucus voted in a block against the bill.  They were joined by Republicans John McComish, Adam Driggs, Bob Worsley, and Steve Pierce.  (Senator Ed Ableser was absent today, or the bill would have failed with 17 no votes.)   This is a HUGE victory for us because the bill only targeted school employees, and we had our votes stick to oppose the bill and defeat it in the Senate.

This bill, aimed only at educators, requires annual reauthorization for the collection of association dues and imposes a civil penalty of at least $1,500 on a school board or superintendent for failing to comply. SB1094 has been model ALEC “paycheck deception” legislation since 1998 and is being pushed by the Goldwater Institute, an ALEC member, in an effort to attack teachers’ and workers’ rights.

Please take a moment to thank these senators for taking a stand to defend the rights of Arizona public school employees and fight back against ALEC.

 

Carlyle Begay

cbegay@azleg.gov

602-926-5862

David Bradley

dbradley@azleg.gov

602-926-5262

Olivia Cajero Bedford

ocajerobedford@azleg.gov

602-926-5835

Andrea Dalessandro

adalessandro@azleg.gov

602-926-5342

Adam Driggs

adriggs@azleg.gov

602-926-3016

Steve Farley

sfarley@azleg.gov

602-926-3022

Steve Gallardo

sgallardo@azleg.gov

602-926-5830

Katie Hobbs

khobbs@azleg.gov

602-926-5325

Leah Landrum Taylor

llandrum@azleg.gov

602-926-3830

John McComish

jmccomish@azleg.gov

602-926-5898

Barbara McGuire

bmcguire@azleg.gov

602-926-5836

Robert Meza

rmeza@azleg.gov

602-926-3425

Lynne Pancrazi

lpancrazi@azleg.gov

602-926-3004

Steve Pierce

spierce@azleg.gov

602-926-5584

Anna Tovar

atovar@azleg.gov

602-926-3392

Bob Worsley

bworsley@azleg.gov

602-926-5760

 


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard