Skip to Content

AEA Applauds Representatives Voting NO on HR5 and Standing Up for Arizona Students

The Arizona Education Association (AEA) supports U.S. Representatives Ron Barber, Raúl Grijalva, Ann Kirkpatrick, Ed Pastor, and Kyrsten Sinema’s NO vote on the Student Success Act (H.R. 5). AEA believes H.R. 5 undermines the original intent of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), which promised all students in the United States equal access to educational opportunities.

“We appreciate the commitment to quality public education shown by Representatives Barber, Grijalva, Kirkpatrick, Pastor, and Sinema in standing up for equity for all students by opposing H.R. 5,” said AEA President Andrew F. Morrill.

“This bill ignores the needs of Arizona’s underserved student population, including those who are economically disadvantaged, are disabled, or have limited proficiency with the English language.”

“It’s no secret that Arizona is last in the nation in per-pupil spending. This bill would push additional cuts at the federal level which would devastate Arizona’s students and schools.”

While H.R. 5 raises significant concerns, AEA appreciates that the bill eliminates Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) and the arbitrary deadline for 100 percent proficiency; retains disaggregation of student subgroup data; scraps NCLB’s one-size-fits-all system of labeling and punishing schools; allows greater flexibility in implementing school improvement strategies; and calls for common-sense assessments of students with disabilities based on the IEP team’s determination. While these elements of the bill are encouraging, the overall measure falls short of what is needed in ESEA reauthorization and therefore, we appreciate the actions these Arizona representatives took in opposing H.R. 5.

Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard